Sprungmarken

 

Bachelor Thesis

Plant differentiation on oceanic archipelagos in dependence of island age.

Bernd Lenzner (09/2011-11/2011)

Support: Manuel Steinbauer, Carl Beierkuhnlein

The “general dynamic model of island biogeography” (GDM), provided by Whittaker et al. (2008) developed to become the current, widely accepted theoretical concept within island biogeography. Its aim is to describe general biotic patterns within oceanic archipelagos.
Within this study, it will be tested, whether some of the predictions derived from the GDM can be supported at a taxonomic higher level. Therefore, four different plant families (Asteraceae, Lamiaceae, Fabaceae and Poaceae) within six oceanic archipelagos (Azores, Canaries, Cape Verde, Galápagos, Hawai’i and Marquesas) have been analyzed.
Following Whittaker et al. (2008) the number of Singles Island Endemics (nSIE) as well as the percentage of Single Island Endemics (pSIE), were investigated to determine the speciation processes within the plant families in dependence of the geological ages of the islands, within the archipelagos, and in dependence of the respective island areas. Hence, I used linear mixed effect modeling to test the statistical approach (the logATT² model) gained from the GDM.
My analysis showed, that applied on a taxonomic higher level the logATT² model does not provide the most parsimonious approach for island biogeographical patterns. In contrast to the expected hump-shape pattern, my research produced two types of trends. One, where highest nSIE occurred nearly from the beginning leading to the conclusion that rapid speciation might be involved. And second, the case, where the nSIE increases with island age. Hence it can be concluded, that an overlay of these two types leads to the hump-shape pattern when observing all occurring plant families. Nevertheless, does the framework provided within the GDM, leave enough freedom for interpreting the obtained results.

last modified 2014-12-02

Sprungmarken

 

Bachelorarbeit

Plant differentiation on oceanic archipelagos in dependence of island age.

Bernd Lenzner (09/2011-11/2011)

Betreuer: Manuel Steinbauer, Carl Beierkuhnlein

Das „general dynamic model of island biogeography“, von Whittaker et al. (2008), gilt mittlerweile als weitgehen anerkanntes, theoretisches Konzept innerhalb der aktuellen inselbiogegraphischen Forschung. Ihr Ziel ist es, biotische Zusammenhänge auf ozeanischen Inselarchipelen zu erklären und vorherzusagen.
Ziel dieser Arbeit ist es, die vom GDM aufgestellten Hypothesen auf einer taxonomisch höheren Ebene zu testen. Um dies zu bewerkstelligen wurden vier verschiedene Pflanzenfamilien (Asteraceae, Lamiaceae, Fabaceae und Poaceae) auf je sechs verschiedenen ozeanischen Inselarchipelen (Azoren, Kanaren, Kap Verde, Galápagos, Hawaii und Marquesas) untersucht.
Entsprechend Whittaker et al. (2008) wurde die Anzahl an Inselendemiten, sowie der Prozentsatz an Inselendemiten untersucht, um die Artbildungsprozesse innerhalb der Pflanzenfamilien, in Abhängigkeit vom geologischen Alter der jeweiligen Inseln innerhalb der Archipele, sowie in Abhängigkeit der entsprechenden Inselgröße zu untersuchen. Dafür wurde der im GDM verwendete statistische Ansatz (das logATT² Modell) mit Hilfe von „mixed effect models“ getestet.
Die Analyse ergab, dass das logATT² Model auf taxonomisch höherer Ebene nicht die höchste Signifikanz im Bezug auf inselbiogeographische Muster liefert. Innerhalb meiner Analyse ließen sich zwei Schemata ausmachen. Zum einen folgte die Anzahl an Inselendemiten einem Trend, bei welchem die maximale Artenzahl fast von Beginn der Inselentwicklung vorhanden war. Dies führt zu dem Schluss, das „rapid speciation“ eine wesentliche Rolle bei der Artentwicklung spielt. Das andere Ergebnis zeigte eine stete Zunahme mit dem Beginn des Lebenszyklus der Insel. Diese beiden Trends könnten dafür verantwortlich sein, dass durch ihre Überlagerung, wenn man alle Pflanzenfamilien gemeinsam betrachtet, eine „hump-shaped“ Funktion entsteht. Gleichwohl lässt das GDM genügend Interpretationsfreiraum um die erhaltenen Ergebnisse zu diskutieren.

Letzte Änderung 02.12.2014